Popovets – one megalithic complex, two churches, and one bottle of homemade rakia

Today I visited Perperikon, the largest megalithic complex in the Balkans. It’s a religious Thracian site, a temple to honour Dionysus, where Alexander the Great received the prohecy of the Roman Empire’s greatness.

It’s a large site where you can easily spend two hours and there are varying styles throughout. Some of the structures date back to the bronze age whereas some are as “recent” as the medieval period.

I managed to squeeze in an hour in Kardzhali between buses and saw a couple of churches (naturally) before heading back to Popovets.

The village of Popovets has maybe a dozen houses and they are building a factory here to process local herbs. One of the construction workers is staying at my guesthouse and somehow I’ve ended up having a “Bulgarian barbecue” with homemade rakia (and conversation near entirely in Bulgarian) this evening? Absolutely wonderful hospitality and I feel very humbled by it. Whether I can wake up in the morning after the schnapps generosity is another question…

img_20180516_212557_540405340926689505002.jpg

TTFN, x

Leave a comment